QIN 0.00% 29.5¢ quintis ltd

Thoughts for Monday open: sell, do nothing, buy?

1. 119 Posts.
    Hi All

We've seen the QIN share price fall from the mid $1.40's all the way down to 97c and back up to $1.10 over the course of a few days, enough to cause an emotional roller-coaster for any investor. So I thought I might put myself in a few different shareholding scenarios and work out what I might do; hopefully this might help anyone going through this upset

If I was a Short Term Trader (day/swing trading timeframe)

Holding stock: immediately get out, sell my entire holding. The share price is under previous supports, and any short-term reasons to hope for a bounce on my mid $1.40's entry price are now invalid. Take the loss and move on to the next trade idea.

Not Holding stock: hmmm, this might be an interesting trade. Massive short seller attack, millions of shares traded. Shorts need to get back in to realise a profit and there is a big gap back up to fill. I will wait on the sidelines and participate if we see a recovery rally gaining momentum.

If I was a Very Long Term Holder (+5 years investment timeframe)

In at much lower prices: I believe the Glaucus research note is not a valid investment thesis (https://hotcopper.com.au/threads/my...report.3317106/?post_id=23576856#.WNbSqPkrJhE). The apparent China customer problem appears serious (thanks tippy https://hotcopper.com.au/threads/china-govt-raids-office.3320475/?post_id=23616735) and poses some near term risk to further share price falls. But my entry risk level was when the company hadn't even completed a harvest, and my investment thesis on waiting for big crops remains intact. I could very well be wrong and end up holding nothing if Glaucus are correct, but on balance the share price fall is an opportunity to buy more stock below NTA.