AVZ 0.00% 78.0¢ avz minerals limited

This is a question for all the amateur lawyers on the board who...

1. 2,734 Posts.
    lightbulb Created with Sketch. 94
    This is a question for all the amateur lawyers on the board who have been debating this problem for a while - is the AVZ arbitration actually winnable? I am no lawyer but it didnt take a lot of research to find this piece of advice by the US State Department, no less, that advises categorically that the New York Convention will not apply to this dispute. Extracted from the website as follows:

Democratic Republic of the Congo - United States Department of State

Dispute Settlement

ICSID Convention and New York Convention

The DRC is a member of the International Center for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID) Convention and a Contracting State to the 1958 New York Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards (New York Convention).

There is no specific domestic legislation providing for the enforcement of awards under the New York Convention. It is important to note that the New York Convention does not apply toward disputes relating to immovable property, which includes mining rights.

And Herbert Smith Freehills is also uncertain

https://hsfnotes.com/arbitration/2015/02/03/new-york-convention-enters-force-in-the-democratic-republic-of-the-congo/