RMS 1.49% $2.04 ramelius resources limited

Van Eck - ETF Buying Opportunity

1. 43 Posts.
    Before I start. I Personally believe the ETF craze is going to create some major issues in the future. However, as a trader, i'll take advantage of these opportunities when they present themselves. I believe such an opportunity is currently presenting itself in many of the junior gold stocks and in particular RMS.  Some of my analysis on RMS as a result of a non-company specific asset sell down from Van Eck based on their index reweighting. As always, feedback is appreciated.
    Some of my analysis on RMS as a result of a non-company specific asset sell down from Van Eck based on their index reweighting. As always, feedback is appreciated.

Below is a table showing the impact of the rule changes from the Van Eck Gold Juniors (GDXJ) index reweighting. Basically for those who don't know Van Eck is a major ETF provider and the GDXJ, ETF allows people to buy this 'index' to get exposure to a large number of companies that fit the profile for this ETF, in this case, junior gold producers. The issue that brought about this change in the weightings, is because the popularity of this ETF (lots of people buy the ETF, so ETF has to buy shares in the companies that make up the ETF), the position size has resulted in Van Eck becoming a substantial holder in many of these smaller, illiquid companies and as a result nearing/exceeding the 20% cap that triggers take over declaration rules on the ASX/TSX.

As a result, they have expanded the list to incorporate more junior gold companies into the index (some might argue increasing the risk to the ETF as a result of this 'diversification' now investing in more sub-standard gold companies). Below is the table of the current holdings and the anticipated flows resulting from the sell down. As indicated, RMS will see estimated outflow of circa 49m shares - around 18 trading days of volume (bottom of image).