Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



MMG LIMITED 五礦資源有限公司

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability)

(HKEX STOCK CODE: 1208) (ASX STOCK CODE: MMG)

VOLUNTARY ANNOUNCEMENT LAS BAMBAS UPDATE

MMG Limited (Company or MMG) regrets to report the death of Mr Henri Aldana Chanca on Tuesday 6 December, Peru time at our Las Bambas operation in Peru. Mr Aldana, who was an employee of our contractor SERPETBOL, was fatally injured by an uncontrolled release of water under pressure while working in the tailings thickener area of the concentrator plant.

Two colleagues were with Mr Aldana at the time of the incident and suffered injuries. Both are in stable condition and remain under observation.

Chief Executive Officer Andrew Michelmore extended his deepest condolences on behalf of MMG. "Our thoughts are with Mr Aldana's family, friends and colleagues at this difficult time."

"This tragedy is a reminder of why we hold safety as our first value and highest operating priority. Workplace accidents are not acceptable and this is a tragic reminder that we can never be too careful," he said.

Mr Michelmore said the Company will commence an immediate investigation into the incident.

The Company is working with SERPETBOL to support the family of the deceased employee and to provide assistance to the injured employees. Counselling and support services will be provided to the employee's colleagues at the operation.

By order of the Board

MMG Limited

Andrew Gordon Michelmore

CEO and Executive Director

Hong Kong, 7 December 2016

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises eight directors, of which two are executive directors, namely Mr Andrew Gordon Michelmore and Mr Xu Jiqing; two are non-executive directors, namely Mr Jiao Jian (Chairman) and Mr Gao Xiaoyu; and four are independent non-executive directors, namely Dr Peter William Cassidy, Mr Leung Cheuk Yan, Ms Jennifer Anne Seabrook and Professor Pei Ker Wei.