Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



MMG LIMITED 五礦資源有限公司

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability) (HKEX STOCK CODE: 1208) (ASX STOCK CODE: MMG)

VOLUNTARY ANNOUNCEMENT REVISED DRC MINING CODE

The President of the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) has signed into law the new Mining Code on 9 March 2018.

During over four years of engagement, MMG along with other mining companies, have urged the DRC Government toward an outcome of the Mining Code review that will preserve the investment climate for the mining sector and offer sustainable benefits for all stakeholders.

These concerns were raised in a meeting between His Excellency, DRC President, Joseph Kabila, key Government officials and mining industry executives in Kinshasa last week.

Whereas the new Mining Code does not reflect the industry consensus of the changes that were necessary, MMG acknowledges the commitment of the President that industry concerns will be responded to in the development of the new mining regulations, to be adopted by the Government. The commitment to dialogue with impacted companies regarding the new mining regulations and application of the new Mining Code is welcomed.

While uncertainty remains regarding the supporting regulations and application of many aspects of the new Mining Code, the changes in law will take effect immediately.

MMG is committed to working with the DRC Government on the effective implementation of these broad-reaching measures.

By order of the Board **MMG Limited Jiao Jian** CEO and Executive Director

Hong Kong, 12 March 2018

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises nine directors, of which two are executive Directors, namely Mr Jiao Jian and Mr Xu Jiqing; three are non-executive Directors, namely Mr Guo Wenqing (Chairman), Mr Gao Xiaoyu and Mr Zhang Shuqiang; and four are independent non-executive Directors, namely Dr Peter William Cassidy, Mr Leung Cheuk Yan, Ms Jennifer Anne Seabrook and Professor Pei Ker Wei.