

24 July 2018

Australian Securities Exchange 10th Floor, 20 Bridge Street SYDNEY NSW 2000

via e-lodgement

Dear Sir/Madam

NEW DIRECTOR APPOINTMENTS

MEC Resources Ltd (ASX: MMR) (the "Company" or "MEC") is pleased to announce the details of a recent restructure of the Company's Board of Directors.

Mr Michael Sandy has agreed to join the Board of MEC and will replace Mr Goh Hock as Chairman of MEC while both Mr Matthew Battrick and Mr Andrew Bald will assume the role of Non-Executive Directors. Ms Deborah Ambrosini will continue in her role as Executive Director, Company Secretary and Chief Financial Officer.

Mr Battrick had previously been appointed as an alternate director for Mr Darryl Moore. Mr Moore has resigned from the Board due to other business commitments. The Company thanks Mr Moore for his contribution to MEC since his appointment.

Mr Goh Hock has resigned from the Board, but he will continue his involvement with MEC as a consultant and will provide regular strategic advice to the board of Directors.

Mr Goh Hock joined the Board of MEC in 2005. He has provided a wealth of international business expertise to the Company through his vast experience across Australian oil and gas producers, and international investment, petroleum services and manufacturing sectors. His leadership of the Company through challenging circumstances of the last two years has been critical to the Company's progress, and greatly received by his fellow Board members, company employees, and shareholders. A message from the departing Chairman can be found on the MEC website.

The Company would also like to thank Mr K O Yap, Mr Heng Yu, who have resigned from their roles, for their continued dedication to MEC while members of this Board. We wish all resigning members well in their future endeavours.

There have been no changes to the Board of MEC investee Advent Energy Ltd. The board of Advent Energy Ltd will continue to comprise Mr Goh Hock (Chairman), Ms Deborah Ambrosini, Mr Stephen Kelemen and Ms Diana Hoff.

Mr Michael Sandy is a geologist with 40 years' experience in the resources industry, mainly in oil and gas. He held executive roles with Oil Search and Novus Petroleum, worked as a consultant to various companies including Mobil and BHP, and had executive board roles with Pan Pac Petroleum, Burleson Energy and Caspian Oil and Gas, and non-executive director (NED) roles with Hot Rock and Tap Oil. He was involved as a founder of Novus, Burleson and Hot Rock. He is currently a NED with Melbana Energy. Mike is a Member of AICD, AAPG, PESA. A more detailed resume is on the MMR website.



Mr Andrew Bald is a Corporate Advisor with a focus on equity capital markets for ASX listed companies but a passion for start-ups. His experience spans a range of roles including 16 years working for a variety of domestic and offshore financial institutions where he provided advice and structured risk management solutions for most of the ASX top 200 listed companies, specialising in structured interest rate and currency derivatives. Since 1999, Andrew has originated and completed numerous corporate finance transactions, assisting companies manage both their debt and equity requirements. He has personally invested in a number of start-ups including, but not limited to, resources and technology.

Mr Battrick has assisted MEC's investee Advent Energy in a strategic and technical capacity since 2017. In Mr Battrick's 35 years of Australian and international oil and gas industry experience, his most recent service was to Sun Resources Ltd as Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer. During this tenure, he managed the capital raising of over A\$40 million, and successfully delivered a strategic shift in business direction with the support of the Board and major shareholders. Previous appointments include Pancontinental Oil & Gas (General Manager), ENI Australia and Mobil Exploration & Production Australia.

The board's composition is now:

Mr Michael Sandy (Chairman)

Ms Deborah Ambrosini (Executive Director, CFO and Co. Secretary)

Mr Matthew Battrick (Non-Executive Director)

Mr Andrew Bald (Non-Executive Director)

Yours faithfully,

Ms Deborah Ambrosini

Executive Director, CFO and Company Secretary