

ASX AND MEDIA RELEASE

Page 1 of 1

For Immediate Distribution

3 October 2012

DAVID JONES LIMITED APPOINTMENT OF NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

David Jones Limited (DJS) today announced the appointment of Jane Harvey as a Non-executive Director of the Company. It is intended that Ms Harvey will stand for election as a director at the Company's Annual General Meeting on 23 November 2012. Ms Harvey was appointed following a thorough search and an external third party review of the Board's composition.

Ms Harvey is an experienced Non-executive Director having previously been a partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers until 2002. She has extensive business, finance and general management experience obtained through a range of line management and consulting roles across many industries and sectors. She is a director of IOOF Holdings Limited, Medibank Private Limited, Colonial Foundation Trust and Telecommunications Industry Ombudsmen. She is currently the Chair of the Audit Committee for IOOF Holdings Limited, Chair of the Audit and Risk Management Committee for Medibank Private Limited and Chair of the Audit Committee for the Department of Treasury and Finance Victoria.

David Jones' Chairman Bob Savage said, "Jane's appointment to the David Jones Board is part of the Company's Board renewal and succession program which sees the composition and skill set of the Board members better reflecting the strategic direction of the Company. She brings extensive experience in business, accounting and finance to the Board and her experience as the chair of a number of Audit Committees will be a valuable asset to David Jones."

ENDS

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:

Brad Soller Chief Financial Officer David Jones Limited 02 9266 5729 Susan Leppinus Company Secretary David Jones Limited 02 9266 5130