MSB 0.93% $1.09 mesoblast limited

A case for why FDA needs MSB to succeed

1. 1 Posts.
    lightbulb Created with Sketch. 58
    Firstly, I need to disclose that I'm not a financial wizard or savvy financial investor. My background is in health and academia with an interest in medical ethics and historical discourse analysis. After parking a good part of my SMSF in MSB, I have periodically checked in with the Hotcopper community and ridden the waves without falling off.

The reason for my first and only post is to offer a hypothesis as to why the FDA (and humanity) need MSB to succeed.

A recent book by John Rasko and Carl Power (2021) named Flesh Made New offers a very interesting history of stem cell regenerative medicine. Beyond an exposè of several charlatans who offered miracle curers, the authors provide a historical account of the flawed, or at worst, fraudulent scientific work that has impacted the reputation of stem cell therapy in the global scientific community. The concluding offer of hope aligns with the type of research that Mesoblast has been conducting. Towards the end of the book, Rasko and Power highlight the global problem of unregulated stem cell therapy clinics, now a multi-billion dollar industry.

As outlined in Master, Mathews & Abou-Enien (2021), the problem with unproven stem cell interventions (SCIs) is that the FDA is unable to regulate every clinic advertising SCIs. This is seen as a global crisis recognised by the World Health Organization (WHO). Similar to Rasko and Powers (2021), the authors highlight how a rogue SCI industry may impact the advancement of legitimate regenerative medicine research (Master et al., 2021). The problem evolving is that some US states have passed legislation to allow patients to access unregulated SCIs in addition to protecting physicians who administer the interventions.