IMM 0.00% 29.5¢ immutep limited

I have been following PRR silently for about two years now, and...

1. 450 Posts.
    lightbulb Created with Sketch. 3
    I have been following PRR silently for about two years now, and want to preface my post by saying I am not trying to be a “Told-You-So”.

Instead, I am trying bring a message of sympathy and encouragement borne out of myself having in the past a experienced similar painful feeling that PRR shareholders will have right now.

About 20 years ago, I – at the “nudge-nudge, wink-wink” recommendation of a senior broking analyst I knew – bought shares in a company called Polartechnics (PLT was the code).

Long story cut short: I lost my shirt (luckily I had only a few thousand dollars invested in the stock, and luckily I sold it a few years before it went belly-up).

This all occurred at a stage of my investing career that I knew very little (even though, ironically, I was employed at the time as an analyst myself, at one of Australia's pre-eminent independent broking firms).

What made me sell the stock was getting a job in 1997 working with a fund manager who was then an already successful investor, but who over the next two decade went on to generate spectacular returns, especially on a risk-adjusted basis (meaning he generated excellent returns while actually taking on very little risk).

He gave me a lot of material to read on Value Investing, most notably Peter Lynch’s “One Up on Wall Street” and various Warren Buffet books and essays.

At the same time, he taught me that the only way to invest was to buy shares in companies that had a demonstrated track record of increasing their Intrinsic Value.
    And the only tactile, meaningful, sustainable measure of Intrinsic Value is GROWTH IN THE GENERATION OF SURPLUS CAPITAL.

In other words, if companies cannot generate surplus capital – through all business and economic conditions – then they are not investment grade businesses.