RHY 4.23% 6.8¢ rhythm biosciences limited

An opinion on the commercial prospects of RHY

1. 19,124 Posts.
    lightbulb Created with Sketch. 6010
    I want to preface that this is my opinion formed from a little over 5 hours of research on RHY. It of course can't be complete, but I think I have covered the important areas in enough depth to reach an informed(ish) opinion.

Background
    I am working my way through reviewing the long term commercial potential of all ASX listed biotech companies. My background is in molecular biology and I have worked in the biotech industry for the last 20 year. Until recently I have avoided investing in ASX biotech companies, but of late I have become more interested in this area and have even found a couple I like.

Science
    While the concept of using standard off-the-shelf ELISA to identify proteins in the blood specific for bowel cancer is scientifically sound, the problem is it is not very original. As the IPO prospectus points out there are a large number of competitors in this area already.

From earlier trials the ColoSTAT test appears to be little more sensitive than the standard FIT test, let alone the more recent molecular tests on the market.

More worrying is the large scale trial of ColoSTAT (Study 5) failed. RHY blame the reagents for this failure (which may well be true), but it means they really have no good scientific support that the test will be any better than what is on the market already. The data from Study 5 appears to not have been published and none of the unpublished data was included in the prospectus. There is a very real risk at this stage that the test may not be successful went trialed on a large number of samples.

The detail on the science is very limited in the prospectus.

IP