MEO 0.00% 0.0¢ meo australia limited

Now that we know for sure that Eni is drilling Blackwood 2 I had...

1. iam
    1,149 Posts.
    lightbulb Created with Sketch. 20
    Now that we know for sure that Eni is drilling Blackwood 2 I had another look at the NT/P68 Farmin flowchart to see where the agreement goes from here. This is necessary when looking at fundamentals from a LT investors point of view.

* The flowchart can be found here (pls scroll down)*

When I studied the chart I found that it did not match the release statements regarding the 50% interest earned by Eni.

To illustrate the point I have reproduced the bottom half of the chart here:

2. Eni have 18 months after to drill B2 post decision date 4 Feb 2013. This will take us to a maximum date of 4 Aug 2014.

3. After this they will have 180 days until they make the next decision whether or not to continue to FID.

4. There is a sub-note to say that '* denotes 180 days from later of Heron 4 or Blackwood 2 well completion.' which means that the timing of the H4 well, should Eni decide to go down that path, could alter the timing of that decision.

5. At the the 180 day decision point there is a line reverting to the box which says ’ Eni withdraws from Blackwood Area (returns equity to MEO)’ and MEO retains 100% Blackwood area.

6. This decision point is ambiguous as it does not tally with the subsequent releases which infer that, by committing to B2, Eni have fulfilled the obligations for 50% equity in the Blackwood area of the permit.

I decided to contact MEO to clarify this anomaly and have decided to share their explanation with the forum, in case anybody else was as confused as me.

7. ‘Eni already have 50% on title and it will be earned once B2 is drilled.’

8. ‘The 180 days refers to the decision to increase their interest to 75% or stay at 50%. If they stay at 50%, then development studies must commence.’

9. ‘The intent of the clause is to keep moving towards development.’