CCC 0.00% 0.1¢ continental coal limited

I want to point out a very important bit about BEE (Black...

1. 21 Posts.
    I want to point out a very important bit about BEE (Black Economic Empowerment) partnership requirement in the South African mining industry. I do not want to raise any issues on socio-economic-political implications of this
    requirement. I only want to point out the havoc it creates in consolidation (mergers and acquisitions) and firmly believe that this is the most important reason for uneconomic fragmentation in the industry. Emphasis again on coal sector and remember these are just my recent random thoughts. I am no expert on these matters and just trying to push logic.

The BEE partnership requirement needs that at least 26 percent of a miner should be owned by black interest groups. If so, the miner will have preferential treatment in government contracts; otherwise no preference and delays. Transnet and Eskom are state owned monopolies in the railways and power utility sector respectively and rail allocations
    and domestic coal supply contracts to Eskom will be affected if you are not BEE compliant. You cannot do without Transnet and Eskom contracts if you are in the coal mining business in South Africa. Richards Bay Coal Terminal (RBCT) port allocations are theoretically not required to be BEE compliant as RBCT is really a private cooperative (owned jointly by players like Xtrata, Anglo Coal, Exarro ad other large miners). However since haulage into RBCT is controlled largely by Transnet, your RBCT allocations will be useless if do not get Transnet contracts. So essentially, you have to BEE compliant if you are a miner in South Africa.

To see the consolidation complications, let us perform some mental exercises.
    Imagine management thought processes when Conti Coal was trying to buy Mashala