This is an interesting notion. Now I am no lawyer, that much is...

1. 718 Posts.
    This is an interesting notion.

Now I am no lawyer, that much is certain and what is also certain is that no nation can be legally defamed. Or so one may think.

I start this thread as a result of an Indian newspapers online "opinion" piece regarding the tragic death of the little Indian boy in Melbourne.

Read it here http://www.navhindtimes.in/opinions/9402-killing-of-baby-gurshan

Now I hope I am not offending anyone here, and it certainly is not my purpose, but this issue is one that I think is of great public interest and indeed of national interest as it strikes at the heart of our good relations with other nations on this small planet we all inhabit which, by the way, is now even smaller given the technology we now have.

Until a few years ago, I worked in the media and did so for some 30 years. I saw a lot of things. I saw things that most people would not see in 10 life times. I was in Thailand two days after the tsunami and saw hundreds of dead people and body bags. I have seen 7 body bags lined up along a road after a fatal accident. I have seen many crashes that resulted in death. I have seen the result of murder. I can tell you that seeing a body on TV is one thing, but for me at least being at Kow Lak in Thailand was a reality check after 30 years in the business. I now understand the true meaning of the word "gut wrenching". Believe me when I say it does not take long in the tropics for hundreds of bodies to smell like nothing else you could ever imagine.

I mention this because these things make me angry.

Death on a grand scale I have seen and that made me angry.