ISD 0.00% 17.0¢ isentia group limited

discussing valuation

1. 401 Posts.
    lightbulb Created with Sketch. 278
    This is my first post on hot copper. My background is fund management. I no longer work in the area but trade my own funds from time to time.

I have made what is a large investment for me at ave. 47c in ISD.

I think the market is missing the point now on valuation, or the professionals are playing this to get it lower before loading up and pushing higher. I think there are similarities with the recent move in SWM from a lowe of 49c or so (hit $1.1 2 days ago).

SWM endured longer period of pressure on share price with profit downgrades against a background of high debt load. They cut the dividend and that signaled that debt would start to be paid down. This was and is way more important in such scenarios than maintaining a dividend to placate retail shareholders. The professionals know this! Equity will not be driven up whilst there is a risk of a large dillutive cap raising.

ISD was valued as a growth stock because of a strong leading market position in a cash generative business and growth opportunities in Asia. It screwed up royally with the content media acquisition and other missteps and has lost over 90 percent of its value. History.

What is it worth now?

1. Current market cap: $83m
    2. Net debt: $43m
    Enterprise Value (1 + 2) $126 million

They have guided to $120m sales and (I am extrapolating) $23m ebitda in the coming year. Approximately 20% ebitda margins. These are good margins by the standards of most industries but poor compared to their margins in recent years, reflecting competitive pressures and mistakes made. So, the stock is currently priced on an ebitda multiple of 5.5x which is low compared to market averages and very low for stocks with these ebitda margins unless you believe the company is ex-growth. I do not believe the company is ex-growth.