To all those property bulls, I was once one of you.Watching...

1. 2,755 Posts.
    lightbulb Created with Sketch. 27
    To all those property bulls, I was once one of you.

Watching property rise so strongly over the early 2000s one couldn't help but get wrapped up in the idea that property is a fantastic investment vehicle (which it has been in times past and in some circumstances). After seeing family do well with property from around 1999 I got excited about the money I would make with property when I was finally old enough and had an income to invest in it. I graduated from High School in 2001 and got a job at McDonald's the next year, worked my way up to store management and in 2003 started looking into what sort of property I could buy.

In 2003 I was living in Findon so looked closeby and found units around the $100-130k mark in Noble St, I spoke to a broker but with little deposit and 100% loans not easily available at that time (as I recall it) I was priced out. Looking now those units sell for around $200k, so a shame I couldn't afford one at the time.

Fast forward a few years to 2006, a couple of job upgrades later, $25k in our savings account my fiance and I started looking at properties. Still seemed to make sense around this time, repayments would be a little more than renting the equivalent property, but not much more. In late 2006 we bought a property in St Marys, SA. We bought a subdivideable block as the intention was to live in the property for a few years (as our PPOR) and then knock down and rebuild turning the property into an investment as we upgraded to something else.