SDI 1.16% 87.0¢ sdi limited

Industry

1. 199 Posts.
    lightbulb Created with Sketch. 12
    Sorry if this has been previously covered but I haven't seen this specific query since lurking around here for a few years now.

I have some questions that I have been thinking of for a while, maybe they're not that valid but nonetheless:

1) I understand part of the answer to this question is that these are competitive markets SDI ranges products in but I'm trying to understand just how fungible products are?

and

2) How does product switching work in this industry?

Probably an example would help:

Say I'm a student in dental school and I am learning the practice of dentistry in class/by observation/by doing as an apprentice. If we take one example of a product, acid etch, I am taught that for certain procedures I will need to etch a tooth. I'm taught the steps as well as the general chemistry involved with such a product and its effect on the tooth, risks involved etc. Also because the world is finite during my apprenticeship I see only one or two brands of etch products - this example can be extrapolated for the other product categories in SDI's range (as well as every competitors' range too I don't think this is a uniquely SDI problem).

Now I'm out of dental school setting up my own practice. I obviously want to have a good career and help my patients so I find my distributor, say Henry Schein, and log onto their website to start buying supplies. I know that etch is a basic consumable for a number of different procedures so I search for etch and I am shown 100 different etch products from 30 different suppliers - again extrapolate out for all the other categories.

So what do I do? Do I buy based on price (fungible)? Do I buy based on the brands I saw during my apprenticeship (not fungible)?