is steve keen correct..

1. 6,316 Posts.
    lightbulb Created with Sketch. 54
    Been thinking about this for a while.

Very long winded but seeing as its a Saturday night and there is nothing much on Telly i thought i would post my views and ramblings.

If you have read much of Steve Keens theories it is very apparent that his line of thought is very much opposed to the standard Neo-Classical economists of today.

Whilst studying at Uni in the early to mid 90's one of the units i studied was econometric modeling.

We would use a program called SAS.
    Probably very archaic compared to the systems now used.

You would input the various factors into the model to make a future prediction. After that we would then apply various tests to ensure its validity. If certain parts of the model did not pass the tests, we would omit them and apply other factors that could be relevant. This process would continue until an objective was achieved and fell into a certain confidence level.

SK's argument is basically that economists and government policy makers have left out one of the most important ingredients to economics. That is DEBT to GDP. If anything, today's reporting is based on Growth rather than the Debt to acquire a particular Growth standard.

Now you may ask, where i am i going with all this?

In simplistic terms, years ago velocity of money was an important factor in how money was distributed.

Lets compare 1980's to today.

$1,000 you could buy a really good portable television.
    Today, you could buy a very good portable for the same price or even lower.

The big difference is in how the funds were obtained and distributed.

In the 80's you would pay via Laybuy - Hire purchase - Cash - Credit Card. However, Credit Cards were know where near as popular as they are today.

Lets assume that the 1980's sale was cash.
    How was that $1,000 cash distributed.