SGH 0.00% 54.5¢ slater & gordon limited

"It's not bad, but it's not incredible."

1. 4,427 Posts.
    lightbulb Created with Sketch. 77
    Here's what a current employee say about S&G UK . May 2017

https://www.glassdoor.com.au/Reviews/Slater-and-Gordon-UK-Reviews-E840904.htm

Current Employee - Fee Earner
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    I have been working at Slater & Gordon UK full-time

Pros
    - On the balance of things, salary is pretty decent and if you perform well, you're also entitled to an exceptional bonus.
    - The office is good, very modern and has good facilities all round.
    - In terms of litigation experience, it is great. I graduated a year ago and I am now litigating files which is fantastic for my CV.
    - IT systems are up-to-date and there are good support services available if … Show More

Cons
    - There is absolutely no opportunity for progression. There are no training contracts offered whatsoever. As someone who wants to be a Solicitor, this is very upsetting at times.
    - Slater Gordon Solutions Legal is not a very-well run business and is surrounded by a lot of bureaucracy and admin instead of actual application of the law. The case management system is horrific and the actual management are so detached from the issues staff face.
    - File load is often unreasonable and you're thrown in the deep end with the work. It's not a difficult job to run the files, but the sheer volume means that you can't give 100% to clients sometimes.
    - A combination of lack of training, poor supervision, bad press and workload does lower morale and management do very little to try and improve this.Show Less

Advice to Management
    Re-open training contract applications for internal staff to encourage ambition within the firm.
    Replace the bureaucrats running Slater Gordon Solutions with experienced lawyers who can draw up a strategy. Throw thousands at these lawyers to encourage them to come.