AEV 0.00% 0.9¢ avenira limited

letter to the corinthians.....

1. 21,239 Posts.
    lightbulb Created with Sketch. 9

I'm reluctant to post much anymore on MAK due to the nonsense which appears under general MAK postings - but for those who might want to think further than pie-in-the-sky earnings figures achieved by bunging numbers plucked from the air into DCF spreadsheets - get your head around this....

and before I go further, I agree with the demand for Phosphate, and I agree that there's plenty of the stuff at Wonarah..... but.....I'm concerned about the logistics of any potential Wonarah operation even if the stuff was lying on the ground (which it isn't) - a point not taken up by ANY of the ramping posters who appear on MAK threads.... and these figures of 2-3 million tonnes of shipped phosphate per annum - have they ever asked themselves how such a thing is possible? no, of course they haven't...

well, as I pointed out to Yellowcake a while ago I'm no expert on bulk haulage, but I'm not a damned fool either, and my ball park figures could be questioned - though I doubt anyone here has the relevant experience to challenge them - but we'll see....

some assumptions.....

max GVM allowed on roads (vehicle and load) 150 tonnes? subtract 20 tonnes for PM and bogeys = 130 tonne load. A generous figure?

operating days per year - can't be 365, no operation achieves 100% uptime. Given all the factors, heavy loads, maintenance, weather conditions - I'd think an up time of 80-90% was a good achievement. Let's plug in 85%.

opex. The famous $100 per tonne figure. That was calculated some time ago and fuel costs etc have gone throught he roof since then - so that figure would be at least $150 these days?

and then there's the long term market price of phosphate - who knows where that's headed? I doubt though that it will remain stable at $400 per tonne - but that's almost irrelevant to the logistics problem.....