MSB 5.25% 94.8¢ mesoblast limited

Mesoblast and GVHD

1. 23 Posts.
    lightbulb Created with Sketch. 109
    I am a health professional and prompted by an article in the AFR over the weekend I have recently undertaken a review of MSB. The overall gist of the AFR article, I must say, was negative. Nevertheless, after a focused review, I have a much more positive impression of the company. I specifically examined the role of the companies therapeutics for GVHD, as this will be the most significant near term driver of the share price.

I was prompted to review Mesoblast (MSB:ASX) after a full page article on this stock appeared in last weekend's Australian Financial Review. With what sounds like a flamboyant founder/CEO and with fund managers on the long and short side, it all sounded like a thriller.

Mesoblast and the FDA

Mesoblast describes itself as a world leader in developing innovative allogenic cellular medicines. It has product candidates in four therapeutic areas: pediatric and adult rare diseases (including GVHD), cardiovascular, pain and inflammatory. Ryoncil (Remestemcel-L), for acute steroid refractory GVHD in children, is closest to commercialization, as it awaits a FDA (US Food and Drug Administration) consideration. Importantly, the FDA has allocated it a priority review (6 months rather than normal 10 months waiting period). Furthermore, the real "kicker" with this drug, for this indication, is that MSB has exclusive commercial rights to this product for the world (ex-Japan).

For MSB, this FDA decision is a BIG deal.