CVN 2.63% 18.5¢ carnarvon energy limited

My Take ON CVN so far.....

1. 1,396 Posts.
    lightbulb Created with Sketch. 467

My Take On CVN
    I haven't decided if I will buy into CVN.
    I think that there are some vocal people on this forum looking at the CVN story, which is a pretty good storey, through rose coloured glasses.
    As a consequence, there is a danger that take a punt that is too large for their circumstances, i.e., they risk more than they can afford to lose.
    Hence, I thought that I would share my thoughts to date.

My Background
    I worked for BHP Petroleum, as a Programmer/Analyst in 1983 for a period of around 20 months.
    I am not an expert, but I have been investing in the industry ever since, so I have learnt a fair bit over the years.

Dorado
    It is possible, if not probable, that they will need to raise capital.
    It has been posted that this was confirmed at the 2021 AGM.
    I believe that funding (debt plus new capital and/or farm-out and/or other?) has to be in place in order to reach FID in mid-2022.
    Timing od a Capital Raise (if that is the way they go):
    IMO, due to prudent risk management considerations, it would most likely occur prior to Apus and Parvo results. This implies early 2022.
    They may try and see Buffalo result, to get a share price kick.
    Given xmas/new year break considerations, I suspect that they will wait for the Buffalo result given the high COS cited by Advance.

Buffalo
    Is there oil in the Attic?

BHP developed and produced.
    BHP believe that oil had not migrated into the attic structure, i.e., there were barriers to the oil migration path.
    CVN, with the benefit of better technology, 3D seismic and processing power, have concluded that there are one or more migration pathways into the Attic structure.
    I think that Advance has quoted a COS in excess of 80%.
    This is oil in the Attic, but includes a sub-commercial accumulations.