AVZ 0.00% 78.0¢ avz minerals limited

Power & Energy Requirements

1. 910 Posts.
    lightbulb Created with Sketch. 3383
    I'm seeing a lot of borderline disingenuous claims that AVZ's power requirements are sorted because there is a hydroelectric power station nearby. Here are the facts regarding that statement, feel free to dispute them as I am not an electrical engineer and the information out there is pretty limited.

The power plant in question, Mpiana Mwanga hydroelectric power station and it's related infrastructure i.e. transmission line has been destroyed by Rwandan forces.

AVZ has stated "there are plans for the reconstruction of the hydroelectric power station"

OK, so there is currently no power plant.

Dathomir has agreed to rehabilitate power plant and the road from Lubumbashi to Manono but in what time frame can we expect the power plant to come back online?

The plant is located 90km away from Manono so running new transmission lines will be no small feat.

AVZ has stated that the plant has a name plate power output capacity of 15 - 30MW. Looking at comparable hydroelectric plants, its annual energy output may be somewhere between 70,000 - 140,000MWh.

How much reliable energy can we assume will be available to AVZ once the townships in the area hook onto the power plant?

This is a drop in the ocean compared to the amount of energy required to run a large spodumene concentrator and lithium carbonate plant to match this potential resource.

According to my research, rough energy requirements are as follows:

Electrical energy to supply a 1Mtpa spodumene mine & concentrator: 25,000MWh
    Electrical energy required to produce 20ktpa of LCE: 50,000MWh
    Thermal energy required to produce 20ktpa of LCE: 500,000MWh (this may be way off)