QBE 1.71% $16.05 qbe insurance group limited

[This content was copied from a post entitled "THE RECENCY...

1. 450 Posts.
    lightbulb Created with Sketch. 3
    [This content was copied from a post entitled "THE RECENCY EFFECT - THE INVESTOR'S BEST FRIEND" on the Woolworths thread.]

I have been a keen student of a psychological condition called the Recency Effect, insofar as it applies to investment markets.

The Recency Effect, in psychology, is a cognitive bias that results from disproportionate salience of recent stimuli or observations. People tend to recall items that were at the end of a list rather than items that were in the middle of a list.

For example, if a driver sees an equal total number of red cars as blue cars during a long journey, but there happens to be a glut of red cars at the end of the journey, they are likely to conclude there were more red cars than blue cars throughout the drive.

As a more practical example applicable to investment markets, QBE's share price has been - and still is - subject to the Recency Effect, where the market, seeing rising domestic interest rates, and a concomitant strong A$, as well as multi-generational low US interest rates, extrapolated (wrongly) those conditions to perpetuity.

To the extent that these observations being made under the Recency Effect were out of step with "normalised" conditions, the stock presented an undervalued situation.

In the interests of edification, I thought it would be a useful practical example to demonstrate the Recency Effect in action.

Accordingly, I have copied comments (unattributed) from various QBE posts over recent weeks.

Notice how the tone of the commentrary reflects the prevailing share price, i.e., share price falling = "negative "further downside" tone, while share price rising = "positive tone and "there's further upside" (even if the share price is now rising from a hihger level than when it was argued to have downside:

Date: 20/11
    Share Price: 16.55