resi investing 101

1. 654 Posts.
    Hi everyone,

I’ve noticed that there are a few people on here who are interested in learning about property on here and I thought I would start a thread discussing the property basics and what I have learned, hopefully this will encourage others to post their knowledge.

For starters, I am no expert, this is not advice, seek professional advice before undertaking any investment. This is all in my honest opinion and my opinion may change.

Secondly, I welcome anyone’s experiences or knowledge from past dealings; positive or negative. However, if you have a chip on your shoulder and feel as though you have nothing to contribute that may help other members, please express your opinion to a parrot or brickwall, not here.

To make it easy, lets make this all one big hypothetical….
    Now that’s out of the way, I guess the first thing I would like to tackle would be, what due diligence did you undertake before deciding on an investment property?

1.If I were looking at a property (resi), the first thing I would do is know that area better than the area I grew up in; know what different land sizes, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 bedroom houses/units have been sold for over the past 5 years. I would then look at where Australia was as an economy at that point and what milestones occurred. Pretty much, I would want to be able to walk into any property in that area and have a knowledge greater than any real estate agent trying to flog the property. By law valuers are, as a guideline, allowed to be within 10% of the market value of a property – that’s what I would be shooting for. Make it like a game and go to openings, guess the price and see how far off you were.