residex, perfect storm 1in100yr housing event

1. 3,311 Posts.
    http://blog.residex.com.au/2011/07/18/from-the-ceo-5/

Please, Not Now!
    My title is pleading for rational sense with respect to the proposed carbon dioxide tax to prevail. Let me explain why.
    I have almost completed my quarterly review of all states as I write our Residex Reports for June 2011. These Reports will be available this week and they contain some startling statistical observations that all who are involved in residential property need to take note of. Some of the information is quite negative but equally so, there are some positive numbers for some areas of Australia.
    I have been studying the housing markets for more than 25 years and have probably looked at more models on the residential property market than anyone else in Australia (other than my chief statistician). Yes, you may claim that I have passed my used-by date, but this time and experience has brought about a wisdom that is very difficult to learn or teach.
    I can tell you that in the whole time I have been studying the market I have not seen the makings of such a perfect storm. The June quarter numbers in some states are the worst recorded for more than 30 years (you would probably have to go back to the 1960s to find worse).
    The market right now is very patchy. There are bright stars on the horizon but they could be dimmed very easily as their glow is weak and flickering, like any new flame is in its infancy. Our star is Sydney, which is the market that generally points to the future performance of other markets across Australia, and the worst performing capital city, Brisbane, is in trend terms indicating that the worst of its corrections are probably over.