Is it just my antiquated thinking or have TAFE courses become...

1. 7,794 Posts.
    lightbulb Created with Sketch. 151
    Is it just my antiquated thinking or have TAFE courses become ridiculously expensive?

Years ago I studied Cert 3 in Business Admin and paid no way NEAR the current full fee rate of $3215.00 (as per TAFE QLD)
    That's a stupidly high price for a cert 3 in business admin imo.
    Once upon a time, TAFE used to be where those less well off would go to get a better education. Forking out over $3k for a cert 3 is not my idea of a cheap education.

I'd love to do more TAFE courses but now that I have the mortgage and family, plus an employer who has dished out multiple pay freezes and sub CPI increases since 2008, I don't have the capacity to repay the TAFE loan. I'm pretty sure I'm not the only one in this position.
    In fact, I wouldn't be surprised if I didn't qualify for any help because I "earn too much" (which is well below the national average fwiw) The working poor as we like to call it.

TAFE training used to be cheap. Now it's just over priced and doesn't necessarily land you a job in this competitive environment.

Yes there were organisation who were just taking money in the form of government handout and that needed to be addressed but TAFE should be like public transport (which it's not in this country).... make it cheap and people will use it.

From the Australian today -

Student exodus from VET continue.
    Written by John Ross.

Vocational education and training’s death dive has continued unabated, with new statistics showing that the number of government-funded students fell nearly 7 per cent last year.
    A little more than one million students were enrolled with government-funded colleges in the first nine months of 2017, down more than 70,000 compared with the equivalent period during the previous year.