NEA 0.00% $2.10 nearmap ltd

the back room

1. 4 Posts.
    I've been meaning to write this post for a few months. Now that Stuart Nixon has ceased to be a substantial holder and I haven't worked at Nearmap for a number of years I feel like the time is right. I'm a former Nearmap software engineer and would like to share my knowledge of the company. In future posts I'm hoping to give my analysis on the current state of Nearmap and express why I'm still a believer and holder.

I'd like to start by mentioning that I've been a shareholder for the last few years and will continue to hold for the foreseeable future. Do not take the following as financial advice and make your own investment decisions.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

I joined Nearmap shortly after they were acquired by Ipernica and remained an employee for a couple of years. I left the company after Simon Crowther became the CEO and before Simon Cope left as CTO. Upon joining I was soon struck by how intelligent the technical team were. I would say they were some of the smartest scientific programmers I had come across. However on the process side of building software I always felt we were lacking. Judging by the current state of infrequent releases but without internal knowledge I still feel the same way. The world has moved on from using agile software development on its own. It is widely accepted that you need to use agile software development in conjunction with lean methodologies to prove your business hypothesis are correct whilst building the minimal amount of working product. Nearmap likes to call themselves agile but I felt they never went far enough.