WOW 0.27% $33.79 woolworths group limited

the recency effect - an investor's best friend

1. 450 Posts.
    lightbulb Created with Sketch. 3
    I have been a keen student of a psychological condition called the Recency Effect, insofar as it applies to investment markets.

The Recency Effect, in psychology, is a cognitive bias that results from disproportionate salience of recent stimuli or observations. People tend to recall items that were at the end of a list rather than items that were in the middle of a list.

For example, if a driver sees an equal total number of red cars as blue cars during a long journey, but there happens to be a glut of red cars at the end of the journey, they are likely to conclude there were more red cars than blue cars throughout the drive.

As a more practical example applicable to investment markets, QBE's share price has been - and still is - subject to the Recency Effect, where the market, seeing rising domestic interest rates, and a concomitant strong A$, as well as multi-generational low US interest rates, extrapolated (wrongly) those conditions to perpetuity.

To the extent that these observations being made under the Recency Effect were out of step with "normalised" conditions, the stock presented an undervalued situation. (As an aside, while I bought QBE in the anticipation of normalisation, aka Reversion to the (Appropriate) Mean, I expected this to occur maybe over a one- to two-year timeframe. It happens to be unfolding more rapidly than that.)

Onto WOW:
    WOW, I believe, is being subject to all sorts of Recency Effects, namely:
    1) Interest rates are rising and will therefore continue to rise
    2) Consumer sentiment has slumped and will continue to remain in slump status
    3) Consumer spending is weak and will therefore remain weak