TIS 0.00% 0.0¢ tissue therapies limited

Trust me... I'm a Doctor

1. 347 Posts.
    Although Dr Mercer has gone, there are still 4 "Doctors" (i.e. people with Doctorates) in senior TIS management positions (their website lists 4 doctors, 2 accountants and one generalist). You may ask, "These are intelligent people - they shouldn't have let this debacle develop in the first place..?" The key to the problem is that these people have the mindset of a researcher, not a manager.

My experience working in universities for almost 20 years is that having a PhD or other doctorate qualification doesn't mean that you are intelligent (or wise, or honest). It doesn't even mean that you have common sense. It just means that you are patient (unhurried?) in your work and you are good at reading and writing.

And when it comes to running an international business like TIS, that demands hard-nosed decisions, action and outcomes, academics who have spent years walking, talking, reading and writing in the cloistered environs of a top university are not up to the task.

Trust me, having dealt with many Professors, Deans and Heads of Schools, universities are not good training grounds for business people. They are absorbed in the PROCESS, not the OUTCOMES. They are good at doing things, but not that concerned about achieving things. You can hide in a university for years doing lots of research and never make a meaningful discovery. This includes all applied research. The best way to hide is to do surveys, analyse the results, and publish the findings along with a press release. e.g. Researchers have found that "57% of people who smoke have racist tendencies..." etc. (and universities like researchers who can get their name in the press.)

So much for my rant on researchers... Now back to business.