XJO 0.76% 7,921.3 s&p/asx 200

wayward's lunching with mum - friday

1. 1,842 Posts.
    lightbulb Created with Sketch. 43
    Morning Trendsetters

Heading into the Fremantle doctor.

The Westy's term for the relief derived from the cool south westerly afternoon sea breeze.

Jeez XJO'ers, hard time keeping a PF under the belt. Sold my little lunch pack of AGO and WBC Tuesday morning after holding a whole week.

At the coal face

I'd be interested to know how many of the XJO thread followers also work - aside from the trading.

I've mentioned a few times - the area that my business, my day job is in is discretionary spending. The three main factors that affect it's health - in this environment - are:

1/ Interest rates
    2/ Confidence.
    3/ Disposable income.

While the government has been saying that our economy is healthy and resilient, this sector has been in darker times than during the real recession of the Keating era.

Government is out of touch with the economic coal face. My tax bill will be half this year because that's what I'm earning...half...I'm not alone....and the tax office and more to the point, Swan doesn't know this yet.

You may think that my situation is isolated- it's not, my competitors claim the same. In Western Australia, half the people walking through my front door are employed in the mining industry.

How on earth does anyone stay in business who is not in a mining state, I feel sorry for them.

On an interesting side note, we market to people with tattoos. What do tattoos have to anything? If they can afford a tattoo, they can afford to discretionary spend. We show people with tattoos in our advertising.

What am I drivelling on about? I'm not really on my soap box (for a change), and this does relate to the fundamentals of stocks (look at HVN,MYR, Davey Jones,JBH) and spill onto banks,non mining manufacturing and building.