WLD 4.88% 3.9¢ wellard limited

WLD - The industry has a few issues to sort

1. 348 Posts.
    I'm somewhat surprised that in the Wellard thread of posts that there is no discussion on the shocking footage of cattle being killed with sledgehammers the ABC aired last week. This story was another blow to a industry that has been promising to clean up.

There appears to have been substantial improvements to the way cattle are exported and Wellard appear to be leading the way. the slaughter houses in Vietnam appear not.
    Perhaps it's had nothing to do with recent weakness in share price, however I tend to differ in opinion.

I've been a farmer and know that in certain situations animals can be seen to be mistreated when in fact the farmer is acting to promote their good health. Shearing, drenching, marking lambs and dipping to name a few, however this treatment of cattle is just not acceptable and the airplay has likely impacted on sentiment.

On two occasions the live trade has been temporarily closed, this time Barnaby has said there is no need to, that for the most part the new legislation is in place and working to protect the welfare of cattle.

I tend to believing they will sort this out without banning the live cattle trade altogether however this has not yet completely gone away. There is a review over the coming months.

However what many are rightfully arguing is that regardless of the new set of animal welfare regulations namely the Exporter Supply Chain Assurance System (ESCAS) which is supposedly meant to be enforced by the Australian Live Exporters Council (ALEC) there are some slaughter houses in Vietnam that could not give a rats toenail how they kill the cattle.